Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Featuring musicians from the world-renowned Gewandhaus Orchestra in a tailored string quartet, KLASSIK underground’s Saturday evening performance of Shifting Sounds will be a night of world class arts and music to savor.

Journeying through the metamorphosis of the string quartet in the twentieth century, curator and violist Tahlia Petrosian will be joined by fellow Gewandhaus Orchestra members to tackle works by Igor Stravinsky, Béla Bartók and Iannis Xenakis while accompanied by the lightbending visual worlds of VFX artist Joli Boardman.

Including musicians Yun-Jin Cho, Karl Heinrich Niebuhr, Tahlia Petrosian and Axel von Huene, enjoy this exploration into new territory as together they interrogate the moments where modernity and traditional musical forms collide.

KLASSIK underground is supported by Ulrike Klein AO.

Image credit: Joli Boardman

"...combining classical music with modern video installations - KLASSIK underground started as an experiment which then became a way of rethinking new concert formats."
— Tahlia Petrosian, founder


Yun-Jin Cho (Violin) (GER/KOR)
Karl Heinrich Niebuhr 
(Violin) (GER)
Tahlia Petrosian 
(Viola) (GER)
Axel von Huene
(Cello) (GER)

Visual Collaborator: Joli Boardman

Béla Bártok, String Quartet no. 3, Sz. 85 (1927)

Igor Stravinsky, Three Pieces for String Quartet (1914/18)

Iannis Xenakis, Tetras (1983)


Sat 22 July


Dom Polski Centre

230 Angas St, Adelaide

Get directions


General Admission
2-Concert Pass


Wheelchair Access



60 mins

Ticketing Info

A 2% Merchant Service Fee (credit card fee) applies. To find out more about our Ticketing Policy, please click HERE

For Companion Card booking information, please click HERE

Want to experience more KLASSIK underground?

Visit the event page below for a complete breakdown of KLASSIK underground concerts being performed at Dom Polski Centre.

You might also like...